#1 10-03-2016 7:32 pm

cgjedi
From: Canada
Registered: 11-16-2011
Posts: 208

Maya Manip Hotkeys for Animation

I wrote a script to add some new hotkeys in Maya2016.5 and later.  You can now individually select the 'x', 'y' or 'z' axis for any manip mode you are in (ie. translate, rotate or scale).  It's just like single-clicking in the Channel Box but without having to constantly move your mouse back and forth.

The script also adds different highlight colours in the Channel Box based on the manip mode.

Manip Hotkeys for Animation


"Whatever is worth doing at all, is worth doing well."
Lord Chesterfield, 1747
"you will find that many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view"
Obi-Wan

Offline

 

#2 10-03-2016 8:01 pm

padraig post
Helper
Registered: 10-25-2007
Posts: 128
Karmojo: 19

Re: Maya Manip Hotkeys for Animation

cool idea thanks smile

does it work on maya 2016?

Offline

 

#3 10-03-2016 8:05 pm

cgjedi
From: Canada
Registered: 11-16-2011
Posts: 208

Re: Maya Manip Hotkeys for Animation

It only works for 2016.5 and later.  They added some new hooks into the Channelbox in that version and this can't be done (easily) for earlier versions.


"Whatever is worth doing at all, is worth doing well."
Lord Chesterfield, 1747
"you will find that many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view"
Obi-Wan

Offline

 

#4 10-03-2016 8:12 pm

padraig post
Helper
Registered: 10-25-2007
Posts: 128
Karmojo: 19

Re: Maya Manip Hotkeys for Animation

Ah ok, was just that on the Creative Crash website it says '2016' so wasnt sure if it was worth trying! wink


thanks for replying smile

Offline

 

#5 11-09-2016 1:03 pm

limeforce
Registered: 01-03-2016
Posts: 1

Re: Maya Manip Hotkeys for Animation

Cool idea but it messes with snapping hotkeys so its a no-go for me. Also, the unloading command did not work.

Offline

 

#6 11-09-2016 3:48 pm

cgjedi
From: Canada
Registered: 11-16-2011
Posts: 208

Re: Maya Manip Hotkeys for Animation

You do know you can change around the hotkeys, right?  It's all about what priorities you have when animating.  Usually animators want to deal with keying channels, not snapping.

Last edited by cgjedi (11-09-2016 3:49 pm)


"Whatever is worth doing at all, is worth doing well."
Lord Chesterfield, 1747
"you will find that many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view"
Obi-Wan

Offline

 

#7 09-09-2017 2:55 pm

padraig post
Helper
Registered: 10-25-2007
Posts: 128
Karmojo: 19

Re: Maya Manip Hotkeys for Animation

Now I've had a chance to try this out on Maya 2017 I realize this is actually a very clever idea! - Just need to train my brain to use the hotkeys rather than going to channel box all the time.

Just to let you know that the restore function threw up this error:

rb_manipHotkeys.rb_restoreChannelBox()
# Warning: Script could not be killed: 112 #

Is there anyway too change the hotkeys the script uses? (though I will probably stick with how you've set it  up as it makes sense)

Thanks again for your efforts and sharing this Cool script smile

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson