#1 06-05-2017 11:12 am

GREENBERET
Model Citizen
Registered: 12-18-2009
Posts: 269
Karmojo: 57

MAYA:Linux - Add Audio Issue<Solved Tentatively>

Hi,


While importing this month sound file (or drag sound at timeline) i get a error - "// Error: line 0: cannot open sound file"

i tried exporting sound file in various bits and khz, but still get the same error. (other sound files also not running, but same file running in window version)

am using Kernel Linux version 2.6.32
If anybody have face the same issue, please guide me.


Thanks a lot in advance.

Offline

 

#2 06-05-2017 1:28 pm

RyanHagen
Upright Citizen
Registered: 06-16-2007
Posts: 1044
Karmojo: 48
Moderator

Re: MAYA:Linux - Add Audio Issue<Solved Tentatively>

Here's what I found on Autodesk's site.  You'll need to encode to this format 44.1 kHz, 16 bit, two channel, LCPM.  If you tried that.  I might suggest if you haven't already tried it....type sound; into the command line and hit enter, then RMB on the timeline and go to "Audio" and select the option box for your newly created sound channel.  Then try and add the audio file through the attribute editor.  If that doesn't work we can try something else.


Ryan
Animator
"Frustration is the handmaiden of creativity" ~ Chuck Jones

Online

 

#3 06-05-2017 1:42 pm

GREENBERET
Model Citizen
Registered: 12-18-2009
Posts: 269
Karmojo: 57

Re: MAYA:Linux - Add Audio Issue<Solved Tentatively>

thanks for quick response,

i encoded sound file but its still have same issue,

and

While trying other suggestion, got below error (when i select sound file from attribute editor.)

"// Error: file: /apps/autodesk/maya2016sp5/scripts/others/updateSoundMenu.mel line 38: Unable to dynamically load : libaudiofile.so
libaudiofile.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

Offline

 

#4 06-05-2017 1:48 pm

RyanHagen
Upright Citizen
Registered: 06-16-2007
Posts: 1044
Karmojo: 48
Moderator

Re: MAYA:Linux - Add Audio Issue<Solved Tentatively>

A quick search popped up with this:
https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/maya-for … -p/3957967

Not sure if that will help or not.  Let us know.


Ryan
Animator
"Frustration is the handmaiden of creativity" ~ Chuck Jones

Online

 

#5 06-13-2017 1:02 pm

RyanHagen
Upright Citizen
Registered: 06-16-2007
Posts: 1044
Karmojo: 48
Moderator

Re: MAYA:Linux - Add Audio Issue<Solved Tentatively>

Did you get this issue resolved?  If so, could you let people know what steps you took and then I can mark as "Solved". Thanks


Ryan
Animator
"Frustration is the handmaiden of creativity" ~ Chuck Jones

Online

 

#6 06-13-2017 1:07 pm

GREENBERET
Model Citizen
Registered: 12-18-2009
Posts: 269
Karmojo: 57

Re: MAYA:Linux - Add Audio Issue<Solved Tentatively>

Hey,

still struggling with that,
got a solution that Linux admin need to install packages from root with below command,

"yum install gamin audiofile audiofile-devel e2fsprogs-libs"

but our office system admin refused to do so, 
so no use for me.

Offline

 

#7 06-13-2017 1:40 pm

RyanHagen
Upright Citizen
Registered: 06-16-2007
Posts: 1044
Karmojo: 48
Moderator

Re: MAYA:Linux - Add Audio Issue<Solved Tentatively>

Well that stinks....did you explain your situation to the office admin?  That's not malicious in any way at all.  Thanks for updating the thread though, much appreciated.


Ryan
Animator
"Frustration is the handmaiden of creativity" ~ Chuck Jones

Online

 

#8 06-13-2017 2:44 pm

GREENBERET
Model Citizen
Registered: 12-18-2009
Posts: 269
Karmojo: 57

Re: MAYA:Linux - Add Audio Issue<Solved Tentatively>

yeah, i told him,
but its a VFX firm, didn't deal with audio tongue
so no use...

Last edited by GREENBERET (06-13-2017 2:44 pm)

Offline

 

#9 07-12-2017 10:20 am

GREENBERET
Model Citizen
Registered: 12-18-2009
Posts: 269
Karmojo: 57

Re: MAYA:Linux - Add Audio Issue<Solved Tentatively>

Hi,

A little update..

Check if your sound driver is updated.
In my case driver updated and problem solved....

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson