#1 05-08-2017 3:41 pm

coalakola
Registered: 05-01-2017
Posts: 6

Malcolm rig freezing<Solved>

Hi there,
Sooo I set up my scene file, referenced the Malcolm rig and when I headed to animate it started to freeze the maya, whenever I try to rotate or move any joints sometimes it freezes the program. I tried waiting for maya to come back but after 15 minutes I gave up because it wasn't responding. Anyone else having same issues? Should have imported the rig instead of referencing it? Any help is appreciated. smile

Offline

 

#2 05-08-2017 5:56 pm

RyanHagen
Upright Citizen
Registered: 06-16-2007
Posts: 1110
Karmojo: 48
Moderator

Re: Malcolm rig freezing<Solved>

What version of maya, what are your machines specs?  Referencing is definitely the right thing to do.


Ryan
Animator
"Frustration is the handmaiden of creativity" ~ Chuck Jones

Offline

 

#3 05-09-2017 4:43 am

coalakola
Registered: 05-01-2017
Posts: 6

Re: Malcolm rig freezing<Solved>

I am using Maya 2017 Update 3
Windows 8.1 64bit
Processor: i7-6700k
RAM: 16 GB
Video Card: geforce gtx 970

Offline

 

#4 05-09-2017 12:31 pm

RyanHagen
Upright Citizen
Registered: 06-16-2007
Posts: 1110
Karmojo: 48
Moderator

Re: Malcolm rig freezing<Solved>

That should be a fast enough machine, could you post your scene in .ma format for us to look at and see if we can troubleshoot for you?


Ryan
Animator
"Frustration is the handmaiden of creativity" ~ Chuck Jones

Offline

 

#5 05-09-2017 1:45 pm

coalakola
Registered: 05-01-2017
Posts: 6

Re: Malcolm rig freezing<Solved>

I'll try to commandEcho all later and see if theres something wrong, but it usually freezes at rotating joints. Here's the file in .ma format:

https://wetransfer.com/downloads/5e4baa … 756/30d4f0

Offline

 

#6 05-10-2017 2:29 am

DaveGallagher
Upright Citizen
Registered: 02-02-2010
Posts: 123
Karmojo: 43

Re: Malcolm rig freezing<Solved>

Just tried your file. I'm not seeing your crashing issue.
But could you try it in Maya 2016? We've seen a strange issue with another of our rigs in Maya 2017 Update 3.

Offline

 

#7 05-10-2017 1:49 pm

coalakola
Registered: 05-01-2017
Posts: 6

Re: Malcolm rig freezing<Solved>

Tried my file on another PC with windows 10 and it was working without crashing Maya. I will try it in Maya 2016, pretty sure that will work, otherwise will get a windows 10 on this PC and see if that works. Thank you for the answers! Have a great day!

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson