#1 12-18-2007 2:49 pm

michaelcawood
Celebrity
Karmojo: 60

Acrobat Previs Linetest - Feedback wanted

I fancied something a little different and I have wanted to do something like this since I was at Uni. I didnít do it at the time because Tarzan had just come out and I didnít want to be seen as following a trendÖ since everyone back then was in to doing everything 100% original.

Anyway, I thought Iíd use it as a way to have a go at using Flipbook to help plan the shot. So this is a look at my work in progress. I'm drawing on top of previs I generated in Maya. I've switched back and forth between 2d and 3d several times already in order to rework this. I used to be a 2D animator but getting used to drawing with a Wacom is really tricky, I donít have anywhere near as much control as Iím used to with pencil and paper (as you can see in the wobbly lines). Iím hoping to start posing the CG character soon, but I thought Iíd get some feedback before I plough into that. Thereís still lots of refining I could do at this 2D stage but a lot of things are hard to judge when they arenít in 3D space (like the speed of the legs running into the screen).

Post your thoughts, both big picture, and per frame analysis. Anything you think of will be helpful. Iím going blind to it now, and using a mirror only goes so far!

Direct Link

#2 12-18-2007 6:00 pm

michaelcawood
Celebrity

Re: Acrobat Previs Linetest - Feedback wanted

Second pass on the linetest with more detail. It should be easier to watch now.

Direct Link

#3 12-18-2007 9:57 pm

avneriginal
Model Citizen
Karmojo: 53

Great start Mike,

I like the idea behind this mechanics piece. It's great that you can revisit some of the things you liked when you were at school.
About the shot: