#1 10-12-2017 4:03 am

undecided

Dropping out of College?

Different kind of topic I guess but I don't know where else I should go. So a little back story, at the moment, I am a sophomore in a 4 year college in the U.S. majoring in animation. My school does not have the best animation program but I chose it because they gave me the most money, had a really nice campus, was close to home (but not too close), and had other programs in the school that were really good. I think I also just wanted to have that classic college experience of dorming, partying, etc. I didn't mind that their animation program wasn't the best but I thought that it didn't matter what school you go to and that if you work hard enough you can go above and beyond. Not saying that isn't true but the program wasn't challenging or rigorous enough to satisfy me. After my freshman year, I thought about transferring but by then it was too late anyway and I would have to wait for Spring semester. THEN, during the summer, I had a little freak out thinking that I wasn't going to be getting financial aid for the upcoming year so I started searching for alternative solutions which lead me to Animschool. I ended up taking a class over the summer just to see and I loved it. The teachers were great and I learned so much just in one term. The financial aid situation got cleared up but I still wanted to continue with the online school. So my thought process was that I would just do both. I knew my parents would be completely against me dropping out so I didn't even think about that option. I wasn't paying much for regular college anyway so I thought that dropping out of college would be a waste. However, now I feel like I should be focusing all my energy on animating. This semester I ended up taking mostly filler classes and wasn't able to get into even one animation class due to a terrible enrollment time. I just feel like I'm wasting money at this point and I'm rethinking why I am in 2 schools. However, I hav