#1 07-14-2017 1:46 pm

bentraje
Registered: 09-10-2016
Posts: 26

Render two views in the same time in Maya<Solved>

Hi,

I'm currently doing a walk cycle and would like to have an exported .avi file in two views (front and side). Currently, the way I do it is to render two views separately then edit it as one video.

Can Maya export two views at the same time just to have a less hassle workflow?

Offline

 

#2 07-14-2017 2:15 pm

danielmaoj
Registered: 08-02-2016
Posts: 11

Re: Render two views in the same time in Maya<Solved>

Hi,

One option for this problem is duplicate your rig, move and rotate it on the possition that you want and then copy your animation.
The render, make a playblast or whatever you need. It should work.

Offline

 

#3 07-14-2017 4:32 pm

RyanHagen
Upright Citizen
Registered: 06-16-2007
Posts: 1111
Karmojo: 48
Moderator

Re: Render two views in the same time in Maya<Solved>

The way you're doing it is the simplest and really takes teh least amount of time to do.  danielmaoj has a good suggestion, but that seems like quite a bit of effort to simply show a walkcycle.  I would stick to the way you're doing it personally.


Ryan
Animator
"Frustration is the handmaiden of creativity" ~ Chuck Jones

Offline

 

#4 07-14-2017 8:56 pm

zethicus
Celebrity
From: Mexico
Registered: 04-25-2011
Posts: 116
Karmojo: 66

Re: Render two views in the same time in Maya<Solved>

Here's how to do it, you're going to need to duplicate the file you're working on. Go to render settings before duplication and make sure everything's right for your front camera.

Duplicate the scene, and in the new scene make sure everything's right for your side camera.

Save everything, close maya. Right click the files and press render. It will do the batch render without having to open Maya.


-Zeth

Offline

 

#5 07-14-2017 9:03 pm

zethicus
Celebrity
From: Mexico
Registered: 04-25-2011
Posts: 116
Karmojo: 66

Re: Render two views in the same time in Maya<Solved>

Scratch that.. lol.

When you choose the camera on render settings you have the option to add a camera. Make sure you've got <Camera> on your file name so that you don't overwrite your work by right clicking and choosing the camera option on file name prefix.

https://thumb.ibb.co/iyK9Ea/cameras.jpg


-Zeth

Offline

 

#6 07-17-2017 12:59 am

bentraje
Registered: 09-10-2016
Posts: 26

Re: Render two views in the same time in Maya<Solved>

Hi All. Thank you for your response. I was out for the weekend. But I guess I found a better option.

In the Duplicate Special Option, there is an option for as "Copy" and as an "Instance"
If you click "Instance" and apply, it will already inherit the animation for the original animation PLUS it will update for the future changes you make to the original.

So I just hide the instance when I'm animating, then unhide it when I go to render.

Thanks again! smile

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson