#1 05-08-2017 11:59 am

Kojiben

People in your life that make assumptions about your profession?

Hello,

So I wanted to make this topic because I was curious if anyone else experiences this and if they have any suggestions.  I am a 26 year old with dreams of getting my foot in the door within the animation industry (specifically video games).  I have both a Bachelors and Masters degree in animation.

During undergraduate school, I was required to take courses outside of my focus such as digital cinematography, web design, graphic design, typography, etc.  By the time I finished my bachelors I felt I did not have enough 3D animations for a proper portfolio/demo reel so I did a Masters.  That was about eight months ago since I finished and I am still trying to find work.

I made a lot of mistakes that I really regret and I am trying to do the best I can to remedy it.  I even had people look at my reel here and give suggestions, a lot of which were critical but very helpful.  Anyways, from the point after finishing my undergraduate till now I have always received good support from family and friends but sometimes the advice they give me frustrates me a bit.

Some suggestions I get from them are:
-Well if you can't find a job in animation you can always look for something in maybe graphic design or web design.
-Oh all you need is to get that one job and everything will fall into place.
-Don't worry, you have a Masters, you'll find a job in no time, you are already one step ahead of the curve.