#1 12-02-2016 4:42 pm

dragonlordsd

First time voting questions

Hey guys!

So, it's my first time voting, and I've had a number of situations that I'm not sure how to deal with. So here are my questions so far, any help would be appreciated.

1. If the animation is cut short (the one in question literally stops in the middle of a word), how should that be scored? Is there a penalty for not using the entire audio clip, or only completing half an animation? In this particular case, the rest of the animation is actually really good, but it looks like the person didn't finish.

2. If one character is animated and another isn't, or isn't animated to the same level, how should that be scored? I figured just score each separately and average the two results.

3. If the animation breaks the competition rules by editing the sound file, but the animation is good, should you still score it normally?

I'm probably going to have more questions, but any help would be appreciated.

#2 12-02-2016 5:30 pm

DonMarks

Re: First time voting questions

These are all good questions to ask, and I had them myself the first time I voted. I would say what's important is to weigh all of the factors in when making your choice. I usually take  off a star or two if the sound has been altered. I have found that animations that include altered sounds  tend not to be of the top tier anyways, so it's no biggie.  It's good you're asking these questions, go with your gut Dragon!

#3 12-02-2016 9:08 pm

Lanmana

This is my first time on this site, entering a competition and also voting, so I have similar questions in regards to voting as well. So far I've just been scoring them lower if they go against one of the rules or are in some unwatchable format.

I have also seen a few though that appear to use copyrighted characters, even though it's stated in the rules that that's not allowed, but the animation was good? I'm not sure how to rate those ones, really.

#4 12-02-2016 9:14 pm

J.K. Riki
Rockstar