#1 06-11-2013 3:35 pm

nicolasbulchak

2D Animation Software suggestions

I am looking for some suggestions of 2d animation software. I'm new at this and I'm not sure where to start. Is there any good free open source software for this, or should i purchase software, and if so, what is the best choice. What kind of hardware setup do you guys use and what are some general starting tips I can get to start off. Any help is greatly appreciated!!

#2 06-11-2013 8:10 pm

ChocoBilly
Administrator
Karmojo: 82
Administrator

#3 06-11-2013 8:50 pm

nicolasbulchak

Re: 2D Animation Software suggestions

Thanks for the quick response! I will try the free one tonight, and look into the flipbook application as well.

#4 06-12-2013 1:52 pm

J.K. Riki
Rockstar
Karmojo: 79
Productive!

After using Flash for 8 years and then moving to Toon Boom, I can't recommend Toon Boom enough. It's built for animators, and is a great set of tools. Flash seems archaic and horrible in comparison, so whatever you do, stick with a program BUILT for animation, not something like Flash.

And of course there's always the good old paper and pencil. smile (Honestly if you've never tried 2D via paper on pegs, I highly recommend it. It teaches you things digital animation just doesn't.)

Animator Island - for Secrets of Animation, updated Mondays
---
Creative Inspiration weekly at JKRiki.com

#5 06-12-2013 3:07 pm

nicolasbulchak

I think I may do some of the initial work on paper and pencil. I've done 3D animation for the automotive industry for years and a little bit of character animation with some pre-rigged 3D models, but a friend of mine has a project that requires a more hand drawn look. I kinda want to avoid that very vector looking animation with super clean lines and fills gradients. Does toon boom have tools that give you this kind of look? And the ability to overlay my work on hand drawn pencil animations?

#6 06-12-2013 3:59 pm

J.K. Riki
Rockstar
Karmojo: 79
Productive!