#1 07-11-2007 11:49 am

aja
Administrator
Registered: 05-29-2007
Posts: 1311
Karmojo: 35
Administrator

Frame Counters Please!

Hi all,

As you start to get further along with your WIPs, please try to include frame counters on your shots...  it makes it much easier to be specific when people are critiquing online.  smile

Does anyone know where to find decent frame counters for Maya, Max, and I think Blender and XSI (not sure what all everyone's using this month)?

Offline

 

#2 07-11-2007 11:59 am

mayanimator
Upstanding Citizen
Registered: 06-15-2007
Posts: 61
Karmojo: 32

Re: Frame Counters Please!

I agree with Aja It will really help for those who are  giving critique...

Offline

 

#3 07-11-2007 12:20 pm

Jude
Upstanding Citizen
From: London, UK
Registered: 06-13-2007
Posts: 9
Karmojo: 38

Re: Frame Counters Please!

This one for Maya works a treat:

http://www.highend3d.com/maya/downloads … /2079.html

Thanks to Mr McNabb!

Offline

 

#4 07-11-2007 1:42 pm

Lokihaus
Upstanding Citizen
From: Westwood, MA
Registered: 07-02-2007
Posts: 41
Karmojo: 37

Re: Frame Counters Please!

sweet, thanks for the link!

Offline

 

#5 07-11-2007 1:49 pm

ydiaz
Upright Citizen
From: London
Registered: 06-24-2007
Posts: 180
Karmojo: 45

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Hi guys, I found this script for Max by Mark Tsang. It works perfectly with playblasts and in viewports.

Nice idea aja, not only helps to critique but also to learn.

Last edited by ydiaz (07-11-2007 1:51 pm)

Offline

 

#6 07-11-2007 2:44 pm

darkfuryo
Upstanding Citizen
Registered: 07-05-2007
Posts: 11
Karmojo: 31

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Hi,
For maya, i use this simple thing.
Go to My Documents > Maya > 8.5 > scripts > userSetup.mel
Open userSetup.mel (if you have no userSetup.mel, create it) with a text editor like notepad.
Add these lines :

Code:

//ADDING FRAME COUNTER
headsUpDisplay
-section 5
-block 1
-blockSize "small"
-dfs "large"
-ao 1
-l frame
-command "currentTime -q"
-atr
 HUDFrameCount;

Save your userSetup.mel.
Start Maya, you can see the counter on the down left corner.

I hope It'll help.

Edit : Oops, i post before see the link of Jude, it is a similar thing with the usersetup.

Last edited by darkfuryo (07-12-2007 10:26 am)

Offline

 

#7 07-11-2007 9:30 pm

dmabson
Upstanding Citizen
Registered: 06-13-2007
Posts: 12
Karmojo: 33

Re: Frame Counters Please!

ydiaz wrote:

Hi guys, I found this script for Max by Mark Tsang. It works perfectly with playblasts and in viewports.

How do you get this script to work with Max?

-d

Offline

 

#8 07-12-2007 12:23 am

frank
Upstanding Citizen
Registered: 06-21-2007
Posts: 6
Karmojo: 33

Re: Frame Counters Please!

please someane could explain a little better the frame counter in maya. I don't have a userSetup.mel, so i create one file (userSetup.mel) i put the info that appears in highend 3d frame counter but it is not working. If anyone know how this work. Could explain better.
thanks
frank

Offline

 

#9 07-12-2007 1:39 am

praveen
Tipster
From: India
Registered: 06-27-2007
Posts: 18
Karmojo: 27

Re: Frame Counters Please!

frank wrote:

I don't have a userSetup.mel, so i create one file (userSetup.mel) i put the info that appears in highend 3d frame counter but it is not working.
frank

hi frank,

neither i find any userSetup.mel in the Maya folder. but that didn't stopped me, so i went...

1.    Fired up Notepad
2.    Copied those codes from darkfuryo's post and i've edited them for the position change(described
       below)...
       
       the "-section 5" in the code represents the view port zone in maya and you can edit
       the number to your choice...
       for eg., here "5" represents lower left corner and
       "2" represents upper-middle!
       
       ------------------

       0   1   2   3  4

       ------------------

       5   6   7   8   9

      -----------------

3.    Saved the file in "My Documents > Maya > 8.5 > scripts" folder with the name userSetup.mel
       with "Save As Type" field in the 'save dialog' box as "All Files"

4.    And i've restarted maya

5.    voila , and there it was...

i think that helped you... even if not; you can try making a shelf button out of this code and you can fire up this heads up display by simply clicking on it!!! i've tried it... it's 100% working.

good luck and keep animating... cool

-praveen

Last edited by praveen (07-12-2007 1:42 am)

Offline

 

#10 07-12-2007 2:01 am

frank
Upstanding Citizen
Registered: 06-21-2007
Posts: 6
Karmojo: 33

Re: Frame Counters Please!

It is working perfect praveen. thank you so much.
Thanks
frank

Offline

 

#11 07-12-2007 10:36 am

mayanimator
Upstanding Citizen
Registered: 06-15-2007
Posts: 61
Karmojo: 32

Re: Frame Counters Please!

hi,
For maya 8.o I don't know but may be it will work on lower version also just try .....

just open script editor  past this one and enter...
I hope this will work..

//  ADDING FRAME COUNTER

        headsUpDisplay
            -section 5
            -block 2
            -blockSize "large"
            -dfs "large"
            -ao 1
            -l frame
            -command "currentTime -q"
            -atr
         FrameCount;


    //    ADDING FRAME COUNTER MENU ITEM

        global string $gHeadsUpDisplayMenu;

        menuItem
            -parent $gHeadsUpDisplayMenu
            -checkBox false
            -label "Frame Counter"
            -command "headsUpDisplay -e -vis #1 HUDFrameCount"
            -annotation "Frame Counter: Toggle the display of frame counter";

Offline

 

#12 07-12-2007 4:26 pm

ydiaz
Upright Citizen
From: London
Registered: 06-24-2007
Posts: 180
Karmojo: 45

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Hey dmabson, to make it work simply open the MaxScript listener (F11), choose Run script from the File menu and select the .mcr file. Nothing will seem to happen but now go to the Customize User Interface dialog and go into the Toolbars tab. Search for the Mark Tsang category and you'll get "Frame Numbers Display", drag and drop the name to a tool bar and you'll get a new button, press it to toggle the display on and off.

Offline

 

#13 07-12-2007 5:36 pm

gittens7
Rockstar
From: Californina Via Dudley UK
Registered: 06-28-2007
Posts: 92
Karmojo: 72

Re: Frame Counters Please!

here is another for maya just stick it in the scripts folder, and type in detailPrintingMFY and tere it is, this enables you to add artist name and date also

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//  Script:detailPrintingMfy.mel, version 1.0
//
//    Author: Kurian O.Samuel
//            kurianos@hotmail.com
//            kript factory, India
//            Tech minds
//
//    Copyright 2004 (c) Kurian O.Samuel | All rights reserved.
//        Modify With your Risk..No Guranty for file structure..
//
//  Tested on:
//       Maya 6.0 running on WinXP, should run on other platforms and versions of Maya.
//
//  Version History:
//     v1.0: initial release
//
//    *** Direct bugs, suggestions or anything else to kurianos@hotmail.com ***
//
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
global proc detailPrintingMfy()
{
    string $username=`getenv "USERNAME"`;
    if (`window -exists detailPrinting`) { deleteUI detailPrinting; }
    window  -s true  -wh 325 140  -title "Print Details" detailPrinting;
    columnLayout -adj true;
    rowColumnLayout -columnWidth 1 122 -columnWidth 2 195 -nc 2;
    text -vis false;
    text -l "";
    separator -h 10;
    separator -h 10;
    text -l "Enter Artist Name Here";
    textField -text $username namebox ;
    separator -h 10;
    separator -h 10;
    separator -h 10;
    separator -h 10;
    checkBox -label "Frame Counter"   -align "left" framechk;
    checkBox -label "Date \&& Time"   -align "left" datechk;
    button -label "Print Details" -c printing;
    button -label "Remove Details" -c deletedetails;
    window -e -wh 325 140 detailPrinting;
    showWindow;
}
global proc string fdate()
{
    global string $dc;
    return $dc;
}
global proc int mainps()
{
    global int $mainpsget;
    return $mainpsget;
}
global proc float totalfrs()
{
    global float $total;
    return $total;
}
global proc printing()
{
   
global string $dc;
global int $mainpsget;
global float $total;
    float $playmin=`playbackOptions -q -min`;
    float $playmaxg=`playbackOptions -q -max`;
    float $playmax=$playmaxg+1;
    float $total=$playmax-$playmin;
    headsUpDisplay
        -section 3
        -block 3
        -blockSize "small"
        -dfs "large"           
        -ao 1
        -l "Total Frames"
        -c totalfrs
        -atr
        HUDTotalFrms;
    string $statd=`checkBox -q -v datechk`;
    if ($statd==1)
        $dc = eval("system(\"date /t\")");
    else
        $dc = "";
    string $currntv=`currentUnit -q -t`;
    string $currentps=`playbackOptions -q -ps`;
    switch ($currntv)
    {
        case "pal":
            string $mainvalue ="25";
            break;
        case "game":
            string $mainvalue ="15";
            break;
        case "film":
            string $mainvalue ="24";
            break;
        case "ntsc":
            string $mainvalue ="30";
            break;
        case "show":
            string $mainvalue ="48";
            break;
        case "palf":
            string $mainvalue ="50";
            break;
        case "ntscf":
            string $mainvalue ="60";
            break;
        case "2fps":
            string $mainvalue ="2";
            break;
        case "3fps":
            string $mainvalue ="3";
            break;
        case "4fps":
            string $mainvalue ="4";
            break;
        case "5fps":
            string $mainvalue ="5";
            break;
        case "6fps":
            string $mainvalue ="6";
            break;
        case "8fps":
            string $mainvalue ="8";
            break;
        case "10fps":
            string $mainvalue ="10";
            break;
        case "12fps":
            string $mainvalue ="12";
            break;
        case "16fps":
            string $mainvalue ="16";
            break;
        case "20fps":
            string $mainvalue ="20";
            break;
        case "40fps":
            string $mainvalue ="40";
            break;
        case "75fps":
            string $mainvalue ="75";
            break;
        case "80fps":
            string $mainvalue ="80";
            break;
        case "100fps":
            string $mainvalue ="100";
            break;
        case "120fps":
            string $mainvalue ="120";
            break;
        case "125fps":
            string $mainvalue ="125";
            break;
        case "150fps":
            string $mainvalue ="150";
            break;
        case "200fps":
            string $mainvalue ="200";
            break;
        case "240fps":
            string $mainvalue ="240";
            break;
        case "250fps":
            string $mainvalue ="250";
            break;
        case "300fps":
            string $mainvalue ="300";
            break;
        case "375fps":
            string $mainvalue ="375";
            break;
        case "400fps":
            string $mainvalue ="400";
            break;
        case "500fps":
            string $mainvalue ="500";
            break;
        case "600fps":
            string $mainvalue ="600";
            break;
        case "750fps":
            string $mainvalue ="750";
            break;
        case "1200fps":
            string $mainvalue ="1200";
            break;
        case "1500fps":
            string $mainvalue ="1500";
            break;
        case "200fps":
            string $mainvalue ="2000";
            break;
        case "3000fps":
            string $mainvalue ="3000";
            break;
        case "6000fps":
            string $mainvalue ="6000";
            break;
    }
    int $newps=$currentps;
    int $newvl=$mainvalue;
    int $finalv=$newps*$newvl;
    int $mainpsget=$finalv;
    headsUpDisplay
        -section 3
        -block 2
        -blockSize "small"
        -dfs "large"           
        -ao 1
        -l "PlaySpeed  ( FPS )"
        -command mainps
        -atr
        HUDFrameps;
    string $stat=`checkBox -q -v framechk`;
    if ($stat==0)
    {
        string $name=`textField -q -text namebox`;
        headsUpDisplay
        -section 8
        -block 2
        -blockSize "small"
        -dfs "small"           
        -ao 1
        -l $name
        -c fdate
        -atr
        HUDArtistName;
    }
    else
    {
        string $name=`textField -q -text namebox`;
        headsUpDisplay
        -section 8
        -block 2
        -blockSize "small"
        -dfs "small"           
        -ao 1
        -l $name
        -c fdate
        -atr
        HUDArtistName;
    expression -s "headsUpDisplay -rem HUDFrameCount;\r\nheadsUpDisplay\r\n-section 3\r\n-block 1\r\n-blockSize \"small\"\r\n-dfs \"large\"\r\n-ao 1\r\n-l \"CurrentFrame : \"\r\n-command \"currentTime -q\"\r\n-atr\r\nHUDFrameCount;"  -o "" -n "printme" -ae 1 -uc all ;    }

}
global proc deletedetails()
{
    headsUpDisplay -rem HUDFrameCount;
    headsUpDisplay -rem HUDArtistName;
    headsUpDisplay -rem HUDFrameps;
    headsUpDisplay -rem HUDTotalFrms;
    delete printme;
}
   
detailPrintingMfy;

Offline

 

#14 07-12-2007 8:37 pm

dmabson
Upstanding Citizen
Registered: 06-13-2007
Posts: 12
Karmojo: 33

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Thanks ydiaz! Works like a charm now.

-d

Offline

 

#15 07-13-2007 2:51 pm

blakboks
Upright Citizen
Registered: 06-27-2007
Posts: 25
Karmojo: 47

Re: Frame Counters Please!

For anyone who uses XSI--in case you haven't found it:  Simply go to the camera's visibility options (Shift+S, or click on the eyball icon->Visibility Options), then go to the "Stats" tab, and check "Show Current Time".
-Chris

Offline

 

#16 07-13-2007 3:00 pm

Adriel
Upstanding Citizen
From: Kissimmee, FL
Registered: 06-21-2007
Posts: 171
Karmojo: 39

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Here is some other ways anyone can use for the frame counters. I got this from Kiel Figgins site (3dfiggins.com) smile

Frame Counter Built In Quicktime
http://www.3dfiggins.com/scrap/framecounterQT.jpg

Tutorial Adding Time Code With Aftereffects
http://www.3dfiggins.com/tuts/tc/timecode.html

Offline

 

#17 07-16-2007 12:45 pm

Oliveuk
Superstar!
From: France
Registered: 06-23-2007
Posts: 90
Karmojo: 86

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Max users, I don't think you need to install any scripts, I will edit this post later this afternoon but when you do your "playblast" you just have to select the frame number option.

Olive

Offline

 

#18 07-16-2007 5:05 pm

ydiaz
Upright Citizen
From: London
Registered: 06-24-2007
Posts: 180
Karmojo: 45

Re: Frame Counters Please!

You're right, oliveuk. I didn't notice the "frame numbers" option. Thanks! wink

Offline

 

#19 07-16-2007 6:53 pm

cube5x5
Tipster
From: NJ
Registered: 06-25-2007
Posts: 64
Karmojo: 28

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Hey all
   Does anyone know of a frame counter for Maya 7.0.  I tryed the other ones here and none of them seem to work on 7.0.

Thanks


-Dan

Scire tuum nihil est, nisi te scire hoc sciat alter

Offline

 

#20 07-16-2007 10:41 pm

kart
Helper
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 06-20-2007
Posts: 1
Karmojo: 20

Re: Frame Counters Please!

I been using this and works great on all versions.

http://www.highend3d.com/maya/downloads … -3833.html

Offline

 

#21 07-24-2007 6:30 am

Sketchaholic
Upstanding Citizen
Registered: 06-11-2007
Posts: 15
Karmojo: 34

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Shameless plug *blushes*  I have a frame counter/hud display UI that controls what you can display, where you display it and the size you want to display it, all at a mouse click away. wink  I was learning mel at the time so the mel isn't elegant if you look into the code but I promise it works!  Well it works for Maya 5, 6 and 7 any way.  Haven't tried it on anything higher than 7.

edit: duh!  I forgot to put a link. wink  http://trivi.org/?page_id=76

Last edited by Sketchaholic (07-24-2007 9:31 pm)

Offline

 

#22 07-24-2007 8:30 pm

cube5x5
Tipster
From: NJ
Registered: 06-25-2007
Posts: 64
Karmojo: 28

Re: Frame Counters Please!

can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong.  I've Downloaded the scripts.  I then opened up notepad and copied the script into it and saved it as userSetup.mel.  Then I put that file into my maya scripts folder.  What am I doing wrong or what else do I have to do, because that's not working.  HELP!


-Dan

Scire tuum nihil est, nisi te scire hoc sciat alter

Offline

 

#23 07-24-2007 9:35 pm

Sketchaholic
Upstanding Citizen
Registered: 06-11-2007
Posts: 15
Karmojo: 34

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Which scripts are you trying to run?  Some of these you don't need to do anything with the userSetup.mel file.  You only need to do that if you want to add in the menu item so that when you start up it automatically creates the menu items. 

for example in mayanimators post you only need to copy that into the script editor and execute.

Offline

 

#24 08-05-2007 2:29 am

Anthony
Celebrity
From: New York
Registered: 06-13-2007
Posts: 19
Karmojo: 61
Productive!

Re: Frame Counters Please!

We really need to add a frame counters to the work we upload. I think its a great idea to give comments or short critiques on each others work, but its hard enough to go thru 43 uploads without having to write about a mouth shape on a word that looks a bit off in the thrid line of this dialogue piece or theres a arm going thru the geometry on some pose. When its much easier to write the mouth shape on frame 23 looks a bit weird. I know that a lot people like to render there stuff out and if you have no working knowlege of programs like Premiere Pro or After Effects it can be difficult, but as the competition grows and grows it will become much more harder to leave some kind of critique on peoples work. And i believe that getting feedback on your work is important to help us grow as animators.

Last edited by Anthony (08-05-2007 2:39 am)

Offline

 

#25 08-05-2007 4:23 am

bog
Administrator
Registered: 05-29-2007
Posts: 577
Karmojo: 54
Administrator

Re: Frame Counters Please!

Anthony,

If you use Firefox or Safari on a Mac or Windows, you should get a frame counter below the animation.

Let me know if this does not work for you.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson